Not what I once was…

image

But much better, I feel. So it’s been longer than anticipated since my last post. Things have been a bit on the busy side, for me. I’ve picked up two (2) jobs, and recently went on a long weekend with some friends. All of this has done wonders for my ego. I’ve also been working on art again. Drawing particularly. My right brain is ecstatic; the left, slightly put out.

Oh well, Lefty will get over it, I’m sure.

The above portrait is from memory. She is the first person I spoke to in my freshman year of high school. I have not seen her since that first semester, but remembered her just the other day in one of those strange Twilight Zone sort of dreams, which I am about to relate to you now.

She was sitting in the corner of a robust-smelling tavern, playing a game of cards with a particularly motley looking group of people, and had a small, sharply dressed monkey hanging off of her left arm.

I saw her look up as I entered to the sound of pounding rain. She rose from the table while the bartender muttered about my dripping on the carpet. The floor was hardwood.

I took her extended hand, and we introduced each other in the manner of 1920’s gangsters. The monkey, presumably hers, screached at me, baring it’s teeth. It vaulted off of her head and landed on the bar. We drank for a while, and talked about her booming business of slave trade and underground root beer operations.

Suddenly, the room shook; tables and chairs crumbled, and wall decorations slammed to the floor. The world seemed to split apart, and out of the chasm crawled what could only be minions of the underworld. We ran, hiding out under the remnants of an overpass until dawn.

Leave a Reply

