Weed and Weird Misconceptions

So, I discovered this week that all but two of my co-workers smoke pot. This isn’t a problem for me when it comes to hanging out, and I don’t judge them for it. I will still gladly chill with them whenever. They’re cool people, and they share my admiration for Bob Marley- we just admire him for vastly different reasons, and I can appreciate that.

What gets me is the reaction that I got from them when they discovered that I choose not to partake. It was a horrified look, a raise of the eyebrow, and a scoff. It was as though the concept of a non-stoned hanging out with stoners is forbidden here.

This has not been the case for me, ever. Social circles were always a myth in my eyes because I was not raised to recognise them. Being homeschooled, I have an adaptable personality that can get along with everyone. I have only met 4 people in my almost-26-years that I did not enjoy being around. I never fit within a specific niche of society because I never knew that it was expected.

Their initial intolerance of my tolerance came as a shock to me. I was blindsided and hurt. However, I understand that the reaction was not that of intolerance. In fact, they were just as shocked. Stoners are generally treated as worthless members of society without goals or the willpower to achieve them if they had them. I know this to be a false assumption, and so explained that yes, I do think that stoners are worth my time. They don’t look at me like I’m crazy when I say weird shit off the top of myhead, and they’re a pleasure to talk philosophy with.

Societal prejudices are pointless, guys. Can’t we all just get along?

Leave a Reply

