Bunnies aren’t just cute like everybody supposes

“They’ve got them hoppy legs
and twitchy little noses.

And what’s with all the carrots?
What do they need such great eyesight for anyway?
Bunnies! Bunnies it must be Bunnies!!!

Or maybe midgets…”

– Once more with feeling
A Buffy Episode.

It’s true that bunnies aren’t just cute. They are freaking awesome.

Allow me to introduce you to Shortcake:

bunny

This is my pet rabbit, and a damn awesome bunny. She was suffering from anxiety and malnutrition when I got her from a co-worker. My co-worker had adopted her from a friend, whose son was abusing her and neglecting to feed her properly, so she naturally had some issues with humans. This co-worker hadn’t really realized how much work and such a pet would be, and did the responsible thing and asked around if anyone knew anything about rabbits. Having had experience with taking care of various furry things in the past, I spoke up, and after a brief conversation, including info on which vets in the area will tend to rabbits, he offered to just give her to me.

Of course, I accepted.

He brought her the next day, and she came home with me in her little cage. This was a little over a month ago.

Now, what a lot of people don’t know is that rabbits are freaking smart. Really, they’re just like cats, only they aren’t quite as verbal, and they prefer the floor. So they don’t jump up on your shelves and knock things off the way cats do. IE- cats can be jerks, while rabbits are a lot more passive.

Shortcake is doing just fine now. She has free reign of my room while I’m at home, and is only confined to her cage while I’m at work or out running errands. She eats well, is very well hydrated, and is about over her timidity issues when it comes to humans. Rabbits are prey animals, and have natural prey instincts, but she allows petting now.

She’s litter-trained. She only ever goes in her box, which is why she has free reign of my room, including being allowed onto my bed, which she hops onto freely when she’s ready for attention.

She knows when to head over to her cage when I start putting my shoes on to leave. She waits patiently by her cage door to be let out when I return. She plays fetch.  She loves playing with her toys, and burrowing into my laundry.

All-in-all, she is a fantastic pet.

For some reason, my roommate’s large German Shepherd is terrified of her.

Weighing in at 110 lb, this trained guard dog cowers in corners if he sees her, and refuses to enter my room, even when she is in her cage.

His reaction to her makes me think of Monty Python’s The Holy Grail- that one scene where there’s the white rabbit in the cave that goes all evil and then the camera cuts away, cuts back, and all you see is blood everywhere.

That, or the old Bunnicula books. Anyone else remember those?

So much funny.

Leave a Reply

