Restlessness

I tried really, really hard to sleep in today, since rainy weather tends to make me feel sleepy. Today, however, I just couldn’t stay in bed, no matter how much I wanted to. So, instead, I’m sitting in front of my computer with a ridiculously large cup of coffee. I’ve already finished the stuff I set out to do for the morning-

Got the mail, mailed off other stuff, cleaned up the apartment, took out the trash, set out chicken to thaw for dinner, and vacuumed.

Apparently, today is just going to be one of those days that drags it’s ass, and just doesn’t want to get going. So often, my days pass so quickly, that I can’t say where the time went, and I’m left wishing the day would slow the fuck down. Today, though, is much different. What the hell am I supposed to do with the rest of my day?

Of course, I realize there are a myriad of projects that I could be working on. I could be knitting, or writing (haha! see, that’s just what I’m doing now), or sketching, or doing something really random and adventurous. But at what point do these projects and hobbies become “worth the time”? When will I be able to just do what interests me without feeling like I ought to be doing something more useful, more profitable, or more “worthwhile”? And yet, I know these things are, of themselves, valuable–not just to me as hobbies, but to society as a whole. Where would we be without people who use these skills of expression? But at the same time, it’s society that tells us that these things are now becoming pointless and obsolete.

These days, you have to run, not walk. Making that paper is shades more important than taking time for yourself to relieve stress by expressing yourself creatively. Even though science tells us that stress is one of the big culprits attributed with the rise of ill health in recent generations. When did money become more important than health?

More importantly? How will we begin to take back our time and our health without feeling like the venture is “pointless”?

Leave a Reply

